A trip to the movies. Review: “Alien Covenant.”

You know how sometimes you see movies that aren’t a complete waste of your time, but it’s just enough to not be fully satisfied? Well, that pretty much sums up this entire review in one damn nutshell. I didn’t hate it and I certainly didn’t love it, but for some odd reason I respected it. This series of movies over the years is part of my “cinema childhood” in a big way. So, the connection to the franchise is still there, it’s just that Ridley Scott should hand it over at this point. Don’t get me wrong he is brilliant, and precise when it comes to the visuals, and the actual aliens look terrifying, but he cant find his way with the storyline anymore. And that’s okay because he is a wonderful film maker, but there’s no harm with bringing in a fresh pair of eyes and ideas to shake up the process a little bit.

 

A lot of the things that happen are a little predictable, and you’ll probably figure out the plot twist before it actually happens. The characters are a bit thin and not really likable or memorable in anyway. Normally with movies like this you have an assortment of characters with personalities that would make me somehow feel bad that they’re getting their face punched in by an alien, and it just didn’t have any of those moments. It takes about thirty minutes before you really get to see some action though, so you can low key be late and not miss a damn thing. I’d describe it is a slow burn that creeps and crawls it’s way through, while dropping some decent cringe worthy moments along the way. All in all it was semi entertaining and I don’t feel like I wasted my money, but I absolutely wouldn’t see it again. Well, that’s all I got for ya’ll with this review. I’m interested to hear your thoughts on it once you’ve seen it. Oh yeah, one more thing…..the ending of course leaves it open for what is supposed to be the very last Aliens, and there are no post credit previews. C-

